The Pulitzer is working with engineers to stabilize and ultimately preserve the Spring Church—an enduring neighborhood landmark. Once complete, the church will be a place for people, public events, and artists projects.

The Spring Church is located on Spring Avenue between Washington Boulevard and Grandel Square. Built in 1884, the church served several congregations until 1950 when it was purchased by the African-American National Memorial Church of God in Christ. In 2001, a fire left the structure in disrepair.