As of March 13, the Pulitzer is temporarily closed and postponing all programs during this time out of concern and care for the safety and well-being of our community. Learn more about our response to COVID-19 here.

This concert has been postponed. Ticket holders should hold on to their tickets and will be notified by email or phone the week of March 16.

The St. Louis Symphony Orchestra and the Pulitzer present contemporary chamber music selected in response to the art on view. This season is curated by Tim Munro, Creative Partner at the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra and Grammy Award-winning flutist. Seating is limited; early arrival is encouraged.


break break break

Fly into the light


From the book

2nd Nature


+ Read More

In 2019, St. Louis-based composer Christopher Stark and the SLSO’s violinist Shawn Weil traveled around Asia. They collected sounds and video that has been transformed by Stark and video artist Zlatko Ćosić into 2nd Nature, a work for violin, electronics and video that receives its world premiere in this performance. This immersive work envelops the Pulitzer audience in an ambient and meditative natural world.

Three Missouri-based composers find their own responses to a sense of place. Yotam Haber’s string quartet From the Book is an emotional reflection on an ancient Jewish liturgical melody, while break break break is a frenzied evocation of South Africa’s rap-rave scene. Violin sounds are slowly weaved into LJ White’s gentle tapestry, while Carolina Heredia challenges a solo cellist to confront the emotional struggles of Anoranzas (“yearning” or “homesickness”).

- Read Less